Stella Artois Jay Scott Prize

Jay Scott (1949-1993) became Canada’s most esteemed film critic and helped put Canadian cinema on the map. Voted by members of the TFCA, the Stella Artois Jay Scott Prize is awarded to an emerging artist, who receives $5,000.

This year’s recipient is Ashley McKenzie, whose first feature Werewolf heralds an exciting movement in Nova Scotia-based filmmaking.

Past Winners

2016 Ashley McKenzie , Werewolf

2015 Anne Émond , Les êtres chers

2014 Albert Shin , In Her Place

2013 Matt Johnson , The Dirties

2012 Nicolas Pereda

2011 Ingrid Veninger , i am a good person / i am a bad person

2010 Daniel Cockburn , You Are Here

2009 Xavier Dolan , J’ai tué ma mère