Awards page

Our signature awards

Rogers Best Canadian Film Award

The TFCA’s Rogers Best Canadian Film Award is Canada’s richest arts prize. The director of the winning film, voted by members of the TFCA, receives $100,000 from Rogers Communications Inc. The two runners-up each receive $5,000.   The 2021 winner is Beans, directed by Tracey Deer. Runners-up are Night Raiders, directed by Danis Goulet; Scarborough, directed […]

2, 2See winners from previous years

Stella Artois Jay Scott Prize

Jay Scott (1949-1993) became Canada’s most esteemed film critic and helped put Canadian cinema on the map. Voted by members of the TFCA, the Jay Scott Prize is awarded to an emerging artist and traditionally considers their body of work. The 2021 Stella Artois Jay Scott Prize winner is Bretten Hannam, director of Wildhood and […]

1, 1See winners from previous years

Allan King Documentary Award

In honour of the late Canadian documentary filmmaker Allan King, this award recognizes the year’s best achievement in documentary film. The Allan King Documentary Award for 2021 went to Summer of Soul (…Or When the Revolution Could Not Be Televised), directed by Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson.

1, 1See winners from previous years

Company 3 Clyde Gilmour Award

For 50 years, Clyde Gilmour, CM (1912-1997) was heard on CBC Radio, and as a writer at The Toronto Evening Telegram, he became the first full-time film critic at a Toronto newspaper. In his honour, the Clyde Gilmour Award is given annually to a Canadian who has significantly enriched the understanding and appreciation of Canadian […]

1, 1See winners from previous years

TFCA Emerging Critic Award

Established in 2018, the TFCA’s Emerging Critic Award was created to find and promote new voices in the field of film criticism.   The 2021 winner is Rachel Ho   Rachel Ho Rachel Ho has written for Exclaim!, POV Magazine, and That Shelf, and is the co-host of the Contra Zoom Pod podcast. She has […]

3, 3See winners from previous years