Technicolor Clyde Gilmour Award

For 50 years, Clyde Gilmour, CM (1912-1997) was heard on CBC Radio, and as a writer at The Toronto Evening Telegram, he became the first full-time film critic at a Toronto newspaper. In his honour, the Clyde Gilmour Award has been given to Canadians whose work has in some way enriched the understanding and appreciation of film in their native country. The winner is asked to choose a young filmmaker to be the recipient of $50,000 in post-production goods and services from Technicolor.

The 2016 award went to esteemed director Alanis Obomsawin, who selected animator Amanda Strong as her designate to receive $50,000 in services from Technicolor. 

Screen Shot 2014-05-31 at 12.42.34 AM

Past Winners

2016 Alanis Obomsawin

2015 Deepa Mehta

2014 Piers Handling

2013 Norman Jewison

2012 John Dunning

2009 Mark Peranson

1998 Elwy Yost