Established in 1997, the Toronto Film Critics Association is comprised of Toronto-based journalists and broadcasters who specialize in film criticism and commentary. All major dailies, weeklies and a variety of other print and electronic outlets are represented.

The TFCA is affiliated with the International Federation of Film Critics (FIPRESCI). Our members have sat on critics’ juries in Cannes, Berlin, Venice, Toronto, Miami, Palm Springs, Chicago, Pusan, Moscow, Amsterdam, London and Vienna, among others.

Every year, the TFCA presents awards for Best Picture, Best Director, Best Male Performance, Best Female Performance, Best Male Supporting Performance, Best Female Supporting Performance, Best Screenplay (Adapted or Original), Best First Feature, Best Documentary and Best Canadian Film.

When appropriate, the Association also presents the Clyde Gilmour Award to a Canadian who has enriched the understanding and appreciation of film in this country. Past recipients include Elwy Yost, Gerald Pratley, James Quandt, Wayne Clarkson and Allan King.