Stella Artois Jay Scott Emerging Artist Award

Carol Nguyen

Jay Scott (1949-1993) became one of Canada most esteemed film critics through his work at outlets like The Globe and Mail. Scott helped put Canadian cinema on the map. Voted by members of the TFCA, the Stella Artois Jay Scott Emerging Artist Award is given to an emerging talent and traditionally considers their body of work.

The winner of the Stella Artois Jay Scott Prize for An Emerging Artist at the 26th annual TFCA Awards is Carol Nguyen, director of Every Grain of Rice, No Crying at the Dinner Table, and Nanitic. This year’s award carries a $10,000 cash purse courtesy of Stella Artois.


Previous winners

2021 – Bretten Hannam

2020 – Kelly Fyffe-Marshall

2019 – Deragh Campbell

2018 – Molly McGlynn

2017 – Sofia Bohdanowicz

2016 – Ashley McKenzie

2015 – Anne Émond

2014 – Albert Shin

2013 – Matt Johnson

2012 – Nicolás Pereda

2011 – Ingrid Veninger

2010 – Daniel Cockburn

2009 – Xavier Dolan