Rogers Best Canadian Film Award

BlackBerry and Swan Song win the Rogers Best Canadian Film and Rogers Best Canadian Documentary awards | Elevation Pictures / Visitor Media

The TFCA’s Rogers Best Canadian Film and Rogers Best Canadian Documentary awards represent Canada’s richest arts prize. The director of eachwinning film, voted by members of the TFCA, receives $50,000 from Rogers Communications Inc. The two runners-up each receive $5,000

The 2023 Rogers Best Canadian Film winner is BlackBerry, directed by Matt Johnson. Runners-up are Humanist Vampire Seeking Consenting Suicidal Person, directed by Ariane Louis-Seize, and Solo, directed by Sophie Dupuis.

The 2023 Rogers Best Canadian Documentary winner is Swan Song, directed by Chelsea McMullan. Runners-up are Rojek, directed by Zaynê Akyol, and Someone Lives Here, directed by Zack Russell.

Previous Winners

2022 – Riceboy Sleeps, directed by Anthony Shim

2021 – Beans, directed by Tracey Deer

2020 – Anne at 13,000 ft., directed by Kazik Radwanski

2019 – The Body Remembers When the World Broke Open, directed by Elle-Máijá Tailfeathers and Kathleen Hepburn

2018 – Anthropocene: The Human Epoch, directed by Jennifer Baichwal, Nick de Pencier, and Edward Burtynsky

2017 – Werewolf, directed by Ashley McKenzie

2016 – The Stairs, directed by Hugh Gibson

2015 – The Forbidden Room, directed by Guy Maddin and Evan Johnson

2014 – Enemy, directed by Denis Villeneuve

2013 – Watermark, directed by Jennifer Baichwal and Edward Burtynsky

2012 – Stories We Tell, directed by Sarah Polley

2011 – Monsieur Lazhar, directed by Philippe Falardeau

2010 – Incendies, directed by Denis Villeneuve

2009 – Polytechnique, directed by Denis Villeneuve

2008 – My Winnipeg, directed by Guy Maddin

2007 – Away from Her, directed by Sarah Polley

2006 – Manufactured Landscapes, directed by Jennifer Baichwal

2005 – A History of Violence, directed by David Cronenberg

2004 – The Triplets of Belleville, directed by Sylvain Chomet

2003 – Spider, directed by David Cronenberg

2002 – Atanarjuat: The Fast Runner, directed by Zacharias Kunuk

2001 – Last Wedding, directed by Bruce Sweeney

2000 – waydowntown, directed by Gary Burns

1999 – Set Me Free, directed by Léa Pool

1998 – Last Night, directed by Don McKellar

1997 – The Sweet Hereafter, directed by Atom Egoyan