TFCA Welcomes Three New Members

May 16, 2022

The Toronto Film Critics Association (TFCA) is pleased to welcome three new critics to the membership: Marriska Fernandes, Rachel Ho, and Peter Knegt. Fernandes contributes to outlets including Yahoo Canada, Complex, Zoomer, and Elle Canada. She also hosts Telefilm Canada’s Maple Popcorn podcast. Ho is a freelance contributor for outlets including Exclaim!, POV Magazine, and That Shelf, and recently won the TFCA’s Emerging Critic Award. Knegt currently writes the column “Queeries” for CBC Arts and hosts the monthly Queer Cinema Club at the Paradise Theatre. Queeries won a Digital Publishing Award for Best Column in 2019 and is nominated again this year.


Established in 1997, the Toronto Film Critics Association is comprised of Toronto-based journalists and broadcasters who specialize in film criticism and commentary. All major dailies, weeklies and a variety of other print, broadcast, and online outlets are represented. The members of the Toronto Film Critics Association vote on the annual TFCA Awards, which include the Rogers Award for Best Canadian Feature – the largest cash prize in Canadian film – and Company 3 Clyde Gilmour Award and the Stella Artois Jay Scott Prize awarded to emerging Canadian artists.

The TFCA is affiliated with the International Federation of International Film Critics (FIPRESCI). Members have sat on juries at festivals in Cannes, Toronto, Berlin, Venice, and London, among others.