TFCA’s Emerging Artist and Student Film Prizewinners

January 4, 2016



On the eve of its annual Awards Gala, the Toronto Film Critics Association is delighted to announce new details of its 2015 awards.


This year’s Stella Artois Jay Scott Prize for an Emerging Artist is awarded to Anne Émond, whose second feature Les êtres chers confirms her as one of the most exciting young directorial talents in Canada. The award carries a $5,000 cash prize, which will be presented to Émond at the Gala by TFCA President Brian D. Johnson.

A still from "Les êtres chers."
A still from “Les êtres chers.”


The 2015 Manulife Student Film Award goes to York University’s Vladimir Paskaljevic, whose short film Absence Is Present tracks the fraying relationship of a mother in Belgrade and her daughter in Toronto. This award also carries a $5,000 cash prize.


And Technicolor Clyde Gilmour winner Deepa Mehta has chosen documentary filmmaker Nisha Pahuja (Bollywood Bound, The World Before Her) as her designate to receive $50,000 in services from Technicolor. Pahuja and Paskaljevic will also be present to accept their awards at the Gala, to be held the evening of Tuesday January 5.

Nisha Pahuja

The Gala will also feature the announcement of the Rogers Best Canadian Film Award, the richest film award in the country. The three films in contention for the 2015 prize are The Forbidden Room, directed by Guy Maddin and Evan Johnson; My Internship In Canada, directed by Philippe Falardeau, and Sleeping Giant, directed by Andrew Cividino. The winner will receive a cheque for $100,000, with the other films receiving $5,000.

The TFCA is extremely grateful to founding sponsor Rogers Communications Inc. and welcomes new accessory sponsor Birk’s and Stella Artois.  Thanks to returning sponsors Manulife Financial, Cineplex Entertainment, Technicolor Creative Services, Maclean’s Magazine, the Globe and Mail, Shangri-La Hotel Toronto, MacLaren Craft and Ontario Media Development Corporation.

The TFCA Awards gala will take place in the historic art-deco Round Room at The Carlu, with cuisine provided by chef Christopher Palik, Executive Chef, O&B and The Carlu. A cocktail reception sponsored by Cineplex Entertainment will precede the dinner and awards ceremony.